[new]: Sigur Rós – Ekki Múkk // New Album: Valtari

By Will Oliver, March 26th 2012 — with 2 comments Album News New Stream

Not many news items can beat out word of new Sigur Rós. Especially when the band hasn’t released an album in nearly four years. The band will return with new album Valtari on May 28.

When asked about the album by Q Magazine, bassist Georg Holm described the album as a “beautiful steamroller”. Jónsi interrupted saying, “Except that there is no steam involved.” The band promised a “dreamy”, “introverted” album that features a girls’ choir. The band say it’s unlike anything they’ve done before, describing it as “an old landscape painting,” and “an avalanche in slow motion.” There is even a taste of electronic music in the new album, the band reassures us that they didn’t make a dance record.

Below you can stream “Ekki Múkk”, the first track that we are getting to hear from Valtari. It’s as breathtaking of a beautiful cinematic moment that we could expect from the band.

Hit the jump to view Valtari’s tracklisting.

1. Êg Anda
2. Ekki Múkk
3. Varúð
4. Rembihnûtur
5. Dauðalogn
6. Varðeldur
7. Valtari
8. Fjögur Píanó

Get online ticket discounts at Dealspotr

blog advertising is good for you

Monday Morning Matinee

midwest sunglasses

Save with concert ticket promo codes at PromoCodeWatch.com


Create your timeline cover maker online easy and fun!