Sean Carey returned this year with new album Hundred Acres, his first new S. Carey album in four years (released via Jagjaguwar). In between all his time spent touring and recording with Bon Iver, he found time to record the new record and now embark on a tour of his own in support of the record.

He brought the performance to New York on March 29 for a sold out performance at Rough Trade NYC. His expansive five-piece band (which included Gordi, who also opened the show) saw most of its members trading instruments almost after each song. Carey spent about equal time both behind the piano or drum kit while also singing.

His atmospheric and lush arrangements were brought to life in a hushed, beautiful fashion that night, with a large chunk taken from the new album, as well as a few old favorites sprinkled in between. He let Gordi perform her own song “I’m Done” to open up the encore, before closing up the show with a solo performance of Tom Waits’ “Take It With Me,” putting a great cap on a lovely evening.

Find photos from the performance posted below, along with the setlist.

S. Carey Setlist

1. Hideout
2. Yellowstone
3. Emery
4. True North
5. Hundred Acres
6. More I See
7. Fleeting Light
8. Rose Petals
9. Alpenglow
10. In the Stream
11. Meadow Song


12. Sophie (Gordi song that she performed)
13. Take It With Me (Tom Waits cover)

  • microphactchecka

    Sophie is Gordi’s real first name, which is why it says that on the setlist. The song is called “I’m Done.”

  • weallwantsomeone

    Ah, thanks so much. Was just going by the physical setlist I found a photo of. Appreciate the info!

Get online ticket discounts at Dealspotr

blog advertising is good for you

Monday Morning Matinee

midwest sunglasses

Save with concert ticket promo codes at


Create your timeline cover maker online easy and fun!