Search Results

Bloc Party & The Drums. A top tier bill that really doesn’t get better than that. The Drums only got 30 minutes but did their job just like they have done every time that I have seen them to date. The band seems to still be missing Connor Hanwick on guitar, but the new guitarist fit in just fine. The band seems to get tighter and tighter every time I see them, with Johnny’s vocals sounding far more improved than the first time I saw them – way back during CMJ 2012.

Bloc Party started with “So He Begins To Lie”, the heavy track that opens their new album Four. They dabbled with songs from all albums throughout the night, mostly staying true to their first two albums. Positive Tension marked an incredible transition during the show. The band and crowd energy merged into one chaotic energy that made me realize that this show was not going to be like any other show. The band absolutely nailed “Banquet”, putting everyone into a sweaty frenzy. “One More Chance”, found a new life live, becoming a really fun dancey treat on that evening. The band ended their first set with high energy performances of “This Modern Love” and “Like Eating Glass” that was breathtakingly incredible. It was like reliving my first listen of Silent Alarm again. I don’t think I’m alone with my fellow attendees who had no voice left after these songs. The set was hardly over as the band returned for 2 encores.

The first saw powerful performances of “The Prayer” and Helicopter” while the finale one included new single “Octopus” and the dance-friendly “Flux”.

Bloc Party are really back folks. I haven’t felt this enthusiastic about this band in years. They seemed to be really in-tune and ready to go out and perform. They brought their A-game for this show, and it will be hard for me to find another show that made me feel this good.

Glad to have you back Bloc Party.

Find photo galleries from both bands below.
Read the rest of this entry »

Part Time were the first opener, hailing from San Francisco. They sounded a lot like Ariel Pink to me. Craft Spells followed and put on a pretty high energy, set that got people’s feet moving. Justin Paul Vallesteros vocals didn’t sound as good as I hoped, but he adjusted well during the second half of their set. The faster paced songs definitely do the band more good live.

The Drums seemingly sound better every time I see them. Although they had another new live drummer and were without guitarist Connor Hanwick. They didn’t miss a beat though playing through most of Portamento, and the hits from their debut. They finished strong with “The Future” and “Let’s Go Surfing”, leaving me more than satisfied. I’m already counting down the days until they open for Bloc Party. See you then.

Hit the jump for photos from all three bands.
Read the rest of this entry »

Bloc Party Announce NYC Show With The Drums

By Will Oliver, April 12th 2012

The last time I saw Bloc Party was at United Palace Theater in 2007. They’ve changed a lot since then, and so have I. So it’s appropriate for me to be perfectly excited that they have announced a new NYC show. It will take place at Terminal 5 on August 8. The Drums are opening (they’re both signed to Frenchkiss). This is a no-brainier folks. It’s their first NYC show in nearly 3 years.

Tickets go on sale for the Terminal 5 show on 4/20 at noon. The good old Amex pre-sale takes place 4/18 also at noon. Here’s the link to purchase tickets, from your friendly neighborhood ticketmaster.

Bloc Party are also playing Lollapalooza. Find the rest of their tour dates below.
Read the rest of this entry »

The Drums @ Bowery Ballroom (11/2/2011)

By Will Oliver, November 4th 2011 — with 1 comment

Wednesday night’s show at Bowery Ballroom was the third time I’ve seen them this year. I’ve enjoyed ever performance more than the last, and this show was no different. The band sounds as tight as can be with the new lineup, and they really gave it there all. The set saw a fair breakdown between both Portamento and The Drums. They also played early cuts “I Felt Stupid” & “Baby It’s Not The Point”.

Johnny was one point last night, as entertaining as ever with his dramatic moves. If you’re a fan of the band, don’t sleep on their live show. It re-creates the mood and emotions found on their recordings, focusing on the best elements that just jump out live. “Down By The Water” and “The Future” are two examples of songs that really transform live. Hearing “What You Were” live after spending amble time with the recording solidified it as one of my favorite tracks of the year.

Check out some more photos and the setlist, after the jump:
Read the rest of this entry »

[music video]: The Drums – How It Ended

By Will Oliver, October 5th 2011

The Drums have released a music video for the Portamento album closer, “How It Ended”. The music video was directed by Patrick Roberts who uses a filter to give a painting like effect. Shots of Jonathan Pierce walking through London are mixed with close up still shots that called to mind a certain scene from Ferris Bueller’s Day Off.

The video is posted below via Spin:

blog advertising is good for you

Monday Morning Matinee

midwest sunglasses

Save on musical instruments including guitars at"
Find the Musical Instruments at

Free mp3 downloads on
Buy celebrity style wigs for woman at


We is Professional China wholesale jewelry, super low prices wholesale stainless steel jewelry and fashion jewelry for women and men

Cheap Wedding Dresses on

Cheap Curtains on Reliable Curtains Online Store -

Sponsored Links

Stylish Bridal Petticoats on Reliable Wedding&Party Dress Online Store -