Concert Photos

Deradoorian at Pioneer Works (June 11, 2017)

By Will Oliver, June 26th 2017

All photos by Joe Saturday

On June 11, Deradoorian played a free show at Pioneer Works as a part of their Second Sundays free event series. It also happened to be during their hosting of Grand Ole Opera, the art installation by Tennesee artists Willie and Brent Stewart.

Find some shots of Deradoorian’s performance, as well as the art installation posted below, all credit to our photographer Joe Saturday.
Read the rest of this entry »

Ha Ha Tonka at Knitting Factory (June 11, 2017)

By Will Oliver, June 26th 2017

All photos by Adam Heller

Missouri rockers Ha Ha Tonka recently returned this year with new album Heart-Shaped Mountain via Bloodshot Records. The group (who recently performed on Conan) stopped in to Brooklyn to play a show at Knitting Factory in support of the new album.

Find some photos from their set, as well as local opener Food Will Win The War, all taken by our photographer Adam Heller.
Read the rest of this entry »

Last year New Jersey post-hardcore rockers Thursday returned from hiatus and have been touring in steady fashion. They returned to New York again for a free performance at McCarren Park along with Toronto rockers PUP for the final day of Northside Festival on June 11.

It was a brutally hot day, but it didn’t stop fans of the groups from packing out the blacktop of McCarren. It resulted in some sweaty singing that was pure dedication from both the bands and their fans.

Find photo galleries of both Thursday and PUP posted below both bands’ setlists.
Read the rest of this entry »

Lower Dens don’t have any new material out, but still managed to give one of the best performances we saw the entire weekend at Northside Festival. On June 10, the band – which currently operates as just singer Jana Hunter and drummer Nate Nelson, packed out Rough Trade NYC for a night of ABBA covers, taken entirely from ABBA’s Gold: Greatest Hits compilation.

They ran through the best of the best, with Hunter cutting loose and giving us some fun covers of all of ABBA’s hits, with the karaoke style lyrics projected behind them. This was the most easy going that I’d ever seen the band, even to the point where Hunter encouraged fans to join them at stage for one point. It was just a good time all around.

Find photos from the rest of the show posted below.
Read the rest of this entry »

Jurassic 5 at Brooklyn Steel (June 10, 2017)

By Will Oliver, June 25th 2017

As the rest of Brooklyn was busy running around at Northside Festival, tons of other music fans descended upon Brooklyn Steel to catch a performance from Jurassic 5.

Getting to see these guys perform live these days is rare, which is why I made sure that I caught them this time around, especially at a great venue such as Brooklyn Steel. The group delivered a fiery performance that had the entire packed audience with them from start to finish.

It would be amazing if we’d get a new record from these guys someday again, but for now, the fact that we are getting live shows is good enough.

Find some photos from their performance posted below, along with the setlist.

Jurassic 5 Setlist:

1. Back 4 U
2. I Am Somebody
3. Jayou
4. Desk (Hip Hop History)
5. The Influence
6. Break
7. Monkey Bars
8. Improvise
9. DJ Set
10. Quality Control
11. Concrete Schoolyard
12. High Fidelity
13. Comin’ Thru (Chali 2na Song)
14. Future Sound
15. Open, Close
16. Hey
17. Baby Please
18. Gotta Understand
19. Freedom
20. Thin Line
21. Without a Doubt
22. Countdown
23. In the House


24. King Tee
25. Ducky Boy
26. Red Hot
27. Jurass Finish First
28. A Day at the Races
29. What’s Golden
30. Sister Sinna

All photos by Jayson Yee

On June 10, City and Colour, the project of Canadian musician Dallas Green, returned to New York for a performance at Hammerstein Ballroom. The show came in support of their 2015 album If I Should Go Before You (which was released via Dine Alone Records).

Our photographer Jayson Yee was there to capture some shots from their performance. Find the photo gallery posted below, along with their setlist.
Read the rest of this entry »

All photos by Anthony Bauer

On the third night of the 2017 Northside Festival not only were we treated with absolutely beautiful weather for an outdoor show, but we were also treated with an amazing, high-energy performance from the one and only Miguel at McCarren Park. Miguel is still out in support of his album Wildheart which was released back in 2015 (via RCA Records).

Read the rest of this entry »

Brooklyn indie rockers The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart will return with their 4th album The Echo of Pleasure on July 14 via their own label, Painbow.

On June 9 they gave fans a preview of the new album during their Northside Festival performance at Music Hall of Williamsburg. Along with new material from The Echo of Pleasure, Kip Berman and the rest of the band gave us a good mix of older favorites from the bands previous three albums.

Find photos from their performance posted below
Read the rest of this entry »

(All photos by Anthony Bauer)

On the second night of the 2017 Northside Festival, we were treated to a special performance at Rough Trade from Brooklyn’s own Big Thief. Not only was this a special show for Northside, it was a special show in that it was the unofficial album release show for the band who put out their absolutely fantastic new album Capacity (out now via Saddle Creek), which is bound to end up on many year end lists. Along for the ride and kicking things off were openers Really Big Pinecone and Mega Bog.
Read the rest of this entry »

blog advertising is good for you

Monday Morning Matinee

midwest sunglasses