All photos by Joe Saturday

Greta Morgan had a busy 2016, releasing a new Springtime Carnivore album Midnight Room (via Autumn Tone Records), as well as a punk covers album that she co-released with Katy Goodman of La Sera, Take It, It’s Yours (released via Polyvinyl Records).

Last year Springtime Carnivore and La Sera toured together (we caught a matinee set of theirs last October at Baby’s All Right), which conveniently allowed for the duo to play some of their covers together.

Continue Reading >>

There’s no record that I’ve listened to more this month than Molly Burch’s fantastic debut album Please Be Mine, which she released via Captured Tracks. It’s still very early, but it’s already a major contender for one of my favorites albums of the young year.

On March 3 she celebrated the album’s release with a sold out performance at Union Pool in Brooklyn, featuring an all Captured Tracks lineup that also featured opening performances from EZTV and Lina Tullgren.

Continue Reading >>

Words and photos by Ross Bernhardt

The last time I covered The Joy Formidable for the site, on April 14th, 2016, the show was decidedly different from the one I witnessed on at Le Poisson Rouge on March 1. During that tour, they had alt-rockers Everything Everything opening and displayed their usual rock prowess at Irving Plaza. This tour went in a different, softer direction. Instead of the loud, winding jams most fans have come to know, the trio from Wales did an entirely acoustic tour.

Continue Reading >>

The always reliable English songwriter Laura Marling is back with her new album Semper Femina, which she recently released via her own label, More Alarming Records. The album is amazingly the sixth album that she’s released in just nine years, a truly impressive ratio.

On March 1 Marling was in New York making the press rounds, concluding a long day of interviews with a special intimate performance at Rockwood Music Hall that was being taped for a live WFUV session.
Continue Reading >>

With every new album, Run The Jewels, the exciting rap tag-team consisting of Killer Mike and El-P, continue to blow up even further. This was evident when they broke the internet with the early surprise Christmas release of their new album Run The Jewels 3, which they self-released. Near the album’s release, the duo announced a tour including a few shows here in New York at Terminal 5. Usually, a successful band books one or two nights there, maybe three if they’re really in demand. Which makes the fact that Run The Jewels had sold out four nights at Terminal 5, a truly impressive feat, showing how big the group is doing it, all on their own terms.

I caught night three of the four-night run on February 27. Killer Mike and El-P came storming out of the gate celebrating the show with their own “Stay Gold” beer (in partnership with Interboro Brewing), chugging them down as “We Are The Champions” was blasted. They wasted no time, opening with “Talk To Me,” and the atmosphere in Terminal 5 was instantly elevated to something I haven’t seen in quite some time at the venue.

Although technically a “hip-hop” show, the duo created a rock star energy and had their entire crowd celebrating as if it was just one giant party, which in a way, it really was. They delivered ferocious versions of songs from across their trilogy of albums, never slowing down for a breathe. The energy was palpable and it really wore off on you in an infectious manner. There wasn’t anyone in the crowd not with them, no face left without a smile. It was an electric performance, truly one of the best gigs that I’ve ever seen at Terminal 5. Even after already performing two shows, Run The Jewels delivered an unforgettable performance, giving their all. It’s a show I won’t forget anytime soon.

Find the setlist posted below, along with a gallery of photos from their performance.

Run The Jewels Setlist:

1. Talk To Me
2. Legend Has It
3. Call Ticketron
4. Blockbuster Night, Part 1
5. Oh My Darling Don’t Cry
6. Nobody Speak
7. Hey Kids (Bumaye)
8. Stay Gold
9. Don’t Get Captured
10. Panther Like a Panther
11. Everybody Stay Calm
12. Love Again (Akinyele Back) (feat. Gangsta Boo)
13. Lie, Cheat, Steal
14. Early
15. A Report to the Shareholders
16. Run the Jewels


17. Close Your Eyes (And Count to Fuck)
18. Down

Looking back on the year of music in 2016, one of the clear standouts for me was I Had a Dream That You Were Mine, the debut collaborative album between Hamilton Leithauser and Rostam. The album is still heavily in rotation for me and hasn’t worn out it’s welcome one bit. In fact, the album somehow finds ways to get better and better with every new listen, finding new ways to surprise me.

I saw Hamilton and Rostam’s first performance together last September at Rough Trade NYC. Leithauser has been hard at work on tour in 2017, but mainly operating by himself on tour, as Rostam has been busy with his many other projects. However, Rostam found some free time to join Leithauser just in time for his three sold out performances in New York in February, including two nights at Music Hall of Williamsburg, as well as Bowery Ballroom, which we attended on February 25.
Read the rest of this entry »

If you don’t know the name Vagabon, it’s time you get acquainted, because it’s going to be one you’ll be seeing a lot of in 2017 and beyond. Vagabon is the project of songwriter Laetitia Tamko, who recently released her debut album Infinite Worlds via Father/Daughter Records. It’s getting a ton of well deserved acclaim, already one of the best reviewed albums of the year.

Vagabon celebrated the release of the album with a sold out release show at Baby’s All Right on February 24, with support from Mal Devisa and Jelani Sei. Mal Devisa impressed me a great deal, performing on her own with just a bass and her voice, yet she had the complete attention of the sold out audience, not an easy task as an opening artist. She definitely gained many new fans that night, including one right here.

Continue Reading >>

All photos by P Squared

On February 23, psych-rock legend Arthur Brown brought The Crazy World Of Arthur Brown to New York for a wild performance at Le Poisson Rogue. The show came as a part of his current tour, which is amazingly his first in 47 long years.

Below, check out some shots of The Crazy World of Arthur Brown as well as opener Electric Citizen, all of which were taken by our photographer P Squared.

Continue Reading >>

With the release of Lady Lamb’s new Tender Warriors Club EP (via Mom + Pop Music), Aly Spaltro has been on tour, playing both traditional shows (such as Knitting Factory earlier in February) as well as special living room shows put on by Undertow Music, which organizes special intimate shows for established acts like Lady Lamb to play quite literally, in someone’s living room. The show took place on February 23, and the location was a cozy beautiful apartment in Bed-Stuy that turned out to be the home of one of Spaltro’s friends.

Continue Reading >>

All photos by Dana Pacifico

R&B singer and budding star Kehlani released her first proper studio album SweetSexySavage on January 27 via Atlantic Records.

The Oakland native recently kicked off her world tour in late February with a few east coast stops. She brought her show to New York for a sold out performance at the Playstation Theater. You get a sense that this is an artist whose going to be dominating much bigger stages in no time.

Our photographer Dana Pacifico was on hand to capture Kehlani in action at the Playstation Theater. Find photos from her performance posted below.

Continue Reading >>


bnny rbbt

blog advertising is good for you

Monday Morning Matinee

midwest sunglasses